An Open Letter to all TEFL/ESL Teachers

image

Dear Fellow TEFL/ESL Teachers,

I am writing this in the hope of support and help from fellow ESL teachers around the world. I am sorry if this becomes longer than I had hoped.

Recently I have been researching TEFL courses for a friend as she can’t afford the CELTA which I did. I realised how little realiable information there is. A lot of it is true but many seem to be written for the benefit for the company, rather than for the person reading it. Thus causing lots of contradictions from post to post and making it very confusing.
So I have started to try and help answer questions and give personal and impartial advice to those who ask for it. A Facebook group seemed a good idea and it was a popular idea. Thus I have just set one up.

I hope that in the future this group can be a great place for those prospective teachers to ask questions and get advice. Plus also those already teaching abroad already can share their stories. More information about the group here.

At the moment it is a bit quiet as it is a new group. There are a few who have posted on there. I hope that other ESL teachers could also get involved by telling your stories and talking about your experiences (both positive or negative) or posting links to either your own blogs or blogs/websites you have seen and you think will be useful to those just starting out in the ESL world or looking for their first job.

Link to the Facebook group here

I am sure that not everyone will be interested but I would be really grateful if anyone could add something.

Thanks and Best Wishes

Carly

6 thoughts on “An Open Letter to all TEFL/ESL Teachers

  1. Pingback: Considering becoming an ESL/ESOL teacher? | We Were Meant to be Teachers!

Leave a Reply

